Ray Sutton Shield


History of Ray Sutton Shield (Under 13 Competition)

In 1979-80, the South Australia Cricket Association programmed and managed the under-13 boys “Savings Bank Shield Competition”. For this initial season, twelve Clubs, including Edwardstown and Salisbury, were split into four groups.

At the conclusion of the minor round matches, the winners in each group played in semi-finals to determine the teams to compete in the final.

The final was played on Adelaide No 2 and Sturt defeated East Torrens.

The 1982-83 competition saw a change of format from the previous concept of four zones. To give a greater depth to the series, the teams were grouped in two zones of six, allowing for each team to play each other once.

The competition was briefly referred to as the “State Bank Shield” from 1984-85 until 1990-91. After this time, the competition has been known as the Ray Sutton Shield, in recognition of the man whose idea and initiative it was to begin this competition.

Sutton began his cricket administration career at Prospect as Secretary, and during his time there, Prospect won seven premierships in eleven years. He joined the SACA in 1980 as the District Cricket Coordinator and during the next 10 years was instrumental in establishing this junior competition. After retiring in 1990 as the SACA Cricket Coordinator, the competition was named in his honour.

Today, the Ray Sutton Shield competition acts as an introduction for young crickets to Grade cricket. Clubs are split into two geographical zones with games exhibiting the best primary school cricketers from each zone. Six rounds have been scheduled on Sunday afternoons (including a semi final round) and provides players with a chance to utilize the best Grade club facilities.

Under 13 Boys
Season Club Season Club Season Club
1975-76 Woodville 1991-92 Salisbury 2002-03 East Torrens
1979-80 Sturt 1992-93 Salisbury 2003-04 West Torrens
1982-83 Edwardstown 1993-94 Tea Tree Gully 2004-05 Southern District
1983-84 East Torrens 1994-95 Sturt (Blue) 2005-06 West Torrens
1984-85 Tea Tree Gully 1995-96 Adelaide (Gold) 2006-07 Kensington
1985-86 Tea Tree Gully 1996-97 Prospect 2007-08 Kensington
1986-87 West Torrens 1997-98 Northern Districts (Orange) 2008-09 West Torrens
1987-88 Sturt 1998-99 Southern District 2009-10 Adelaide
1988-89 Salisbury 1999-00 Prospect 2010-11 East Torrens
1989-90 East Torrens 2000-01 Tea Tree Gully 2011-12 Kensington
1990-91 East Torrens 2001-02 Southern District 2012-13 Glenelg
        2013-14 West Torrens